my arrival to copenhagen & my first few days…

My flight from California to Copenhagen was uneventful. Besides dealing with a slighty overweight suitcase and the common case of airport fatigue, I arrived to Copenhagen Airport safe, sound, and right on time.

Once we touched down, the rest of the day went by in a blur. In large buses, us DIS students were transported through the city and dropped off at our homes for the semester. It seemed to take forever to reach my Kollegium, with the jet lag settling over my shoulders I just wanted to be home already.

But as soon as I turned the key to open the door to my flat, my exhaustion disappeared. After meeting my (incredibly sweet and amazing!!!) roommates, it finally start to hit. I was in Copenhagen. I was going to live in Copenhagen. Unpacking and getting to know my roommates made it seem real. And it doesn’t get more real than finding a spot for your socks and setting out a toothbrush.

I live with local Danish students and one other DIS student. I’m in love with my housing. I love how the sun seems to always be shining in through our windows. I love the grocery store right across the street. I love our balcony and the view that comes with it. I love the shared dinners we’ve had almost every night. I can tell it’s going to be a wonderful place to spend my semester in.

just look at that light. mmm mmm.

Living with local Copenhagen residents made our introduction to the city all the more wonderful. In my first few days here they were incredibly helpful when it came to navigating the different neighboorhoods in Copenhagen, the metro (which by the way- so simple and easy to understand 10/10 public transportation). When we arrived, the weather was amazing. It was sun all day with not a cloud in the sky. We took full advantage of it and walked the entire city. Yup, each of the major neighboorhoods that make up Copenhagen.

Some highlights…

My first croissant and espresso in the city. Consumed in Cafe Kodan (Roommate Recommended!). Bonus points for deliciousness, free wifi, and student discount. Will be a future study spot.

Frederiksberg Palace! A true royal garden. It seemed like all of Copenhagen was out, sprawled on the lawn, soaking up the nice weather. My roommates and I walked from the palace to the zoo, where we got lucky enough to see the elephants!

After walking nearly nine miles (nine!!!!) we were in need of a coffee break. My roommate showed us a little Copenhagen gem. A coffee shop, called Zaggis, where everything is 20 DKK, so little more than $3, which is a total steal in this city.

Classes have started and I’ve started using my planner again. After my amazing introduction to the city, I feel ready to take on this semester. I’m excited to start my routine, find more hidden cafes, cook more dinners, and explore this grand city. Stay tuned.

Leave a comment